Officers and Trustees of the New Netherland Institute

Marilyn E. Douglas, President

Phoebe Bender, Vice President

E. James Schermerhorn, Secretary

Dr. Arthur Fontijn

Richard C. Kiger

Michael Vande Woude

Everett Law Zabriskie, III

Ellen Zunon

Ex Officio

Dr. Charles T. Gehring

Mark Schaming, New York State OCE/NYSED

Thomas J. Ruller, State Archivist

Lauren Moore, State Librarian

Past President
R. J. Jippe Hiemstra, deceased 

(Current as of 02/2021)


New Netherland Research Center

Dr. Charles T. Gehring, Director

Dr. Janny Venema, Emeritus


New Netherland Institute Office

Jeanne Hawkey, Office Manager

Dr. Dennis Maika, Senior Historian and Education Director

Russell Shorto, Senior Scholar

General Office Contact Information

Phone:  518-486-4815

Email: nni@newnetherlandinstitute.org

Mail (no packages please):  P. O. Box 2536, Empire State Plaza, Albany, NY  12220-0536

Mail (packages) New Netherland Institute, Cultural Education Center, Room 10D45, 222 Madison Avenue, Albany, NY 12230

About the New Netherland Institute

For over three decades, NNI has helped cast light on America's Dutch roots. In 2010, it partnered with the New York State Office of Cultural Education to establish the New Netherland Research Center, with matching funds from the State of the Netherlands. NNI is registered as a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. Contributions are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law. More

The New Netherland Research Center

Housed in the New York State Library, the NNRC offers students, educators, scholars and researchers a vast collection of early documents and reference works on America's Dutch era. More


find_us_on_facebook_logo.gif Twitter_logo_blue.png   Marcurius_Heading_Linear.jpg 

Subscribe Now

Subscribe to NNI's  e-Marcurius and DAGNN-L to receive information about New Netherland-related events, activities, conferences, and research. 

Support NNI

By supporting NNI you help increase awareness of the 17th century Dutch colony of New Netherland and its legacy in America.