The Awards of the New Netherland Institute


Hendricks Award - January 15, 2024

Charles W. Wendell Research Grant - February 15, 2024

Van Slyke Article Prize - April 1, 2024


hendricksP.jpgHendricks Award

Endowed by Dr. Andrew Hendricks, this award of $5,000 is given annually for the best book or book-length manuscript relating to the Dutch colonial experience in North America before the American Revolution. The deadline for submissions is January 15.

NNSeal140.jpgVan Slyke Article Prize

The New Netherland Institute offers an annual $1,000 prize for the best published article relating to the Dutch colonial experience in the Atlantic world, with a special sensitivity to New Netherland or its legacy. The deadline for submissions is April 1.

hagemanP.jpgThe Howard G. Hageman Citation

The Trustees of NNI periodically give this award for particularly noteworthy support and encouragement to the New Netherland Project and now to the New Netherland Research Center.

About the New Netherland Institute

For over three decades, NNI has helped cast light on America's Dutch roots. In 2010, it partnered with the New York State Office of Cultural Education to establish the New Netherland Research Center, with matching funds from the State of the Netherlands. NNI is registered as a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. Contributions are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law. More

The New Netherland Research Center

Housed in the New York State Library, the NNRC offers students, educators, scholars and researchers a vast collection of early documents and reference works on America's Dutch era. More


Subscribe Now

Subscribe to NNI's  e-Marcurius and DAG to receive information about New Netherland-related events, activities, conferences, and research. 


Support NNI

By supporting NNI you help increase awareness of the 17th century Dutch colony of New Netherland and its legacy in America.